FBA Leadership

Ask the FBA Board of Directors a question!

(To direct your question to a specific individual, just click on their name below)


Ben Purvis, President

Steve Brumm, Vice President

Robin Yelverton, Treasurer

Connie Washam, Secretary


Ed Shemanski

Matt Barber

Lou Goldman


The FBA’s corps of very capable representatives preside over all FBA-sanctioned contests.  They are charged with the responsibility of ensuring the contest is conducted in accordance with the Official FBA Contest Rules.  They setup the venue for judging, enter the scores, and see to it that all FBA rules are followed and oversee the entire judging process.  As well, they have the final say on all onsite interpretations of the rules as they relate to products turned in by contestants and the fair judging of those products.

Currently, we are training additional FBA Reps in Florida, but we need help in Alabama and Georgia. If you are interested in becoming a Rep or have any questions about the Rep Training program, please contact Dennis Schmitz, Training Coordinator.

Qualifications to be a FBA representative are:

  1. Must be a FBA member in good standing.
  2. Must be a FBA Master Judge
  3. Must speak and read English.
  4. Must be able to lift 30 lbs. and be physically capable of stepping into and out of team trailers safely.
  5. Must have nominal computer skills and have a personal e-mail account.
  6. Must have an agreeable demeanor.
  7. Must be recommended by a sitting Rep to the FBA Board of Directors.
  8. Waivers of qualifications must be approved by a majority of the FBA Board of Directors.
  9. Must train under the supervision of a Lead Rep for a minimum of 5 sanctioned contest events.
  10. Must complete Rep training within 1 calendar year and receive final FBA Board of Director approval.


Lorne Brumm, Lead Rep


Steve Brumm, Lead Rep

Seminar Instructor


Sheilah Jones, Lead Rep


Dennis Schmitz, Lead Rep


Gary Washam, Lead Rep

Seminar Instructor


Bob Youngblood, Lead Rep


Ed Shemanski, Lead Rep


Lori Frazee, Rep

Charles Golden, Rep

Frank Jones, Rep

Jim Dehne, Rep


Connie Washam, Rep

Bill Tanner, Rep


Have Other Questions About the FBA?   Maybe One of Our Committee Members can Help.

Memberships: Connie Washam

Judges Committee: Jim Frazee (Chairman)

Steve Askew
Gayle Dimaggio
Rick Dimaggio (Seminar Instructor)
Tim Giebeig
Lou Goldman
Cullen Logan
Richard Ware
Nick Wunder

Cook Team Committee: Rub Bagby (Chairman)

Doug Frances
Tim Maloy
Jim McCoin
Kenny Shiflett
Bill Tanner

Contest Sanctioning: Dennis Schmitz

Marketing Committee: Matt Barber (Chairman)

Doug Francis
Dave Frosch
Chad Greer
Roy Griffen
Shelby Lomen
Lee Tillman

Rep Committee: Charles Golden (Chairman)

All contest Reps are members of the committee. Their information is

Information Technology: Gary Washam (Chairman)

Ed Shemanski – Email Questions & Broadcasts
Dave Stockman – IT Documentation
Lori Ware – Judge Signups & SW Programming
Charles Golden – Q/A & Functional Mapping